James Brown
Live At Boston Garden: April 5, 1968 [Extended Edition]

Released: December 9, 2014 • Available in US & Canada
Product SKU: 826663155426
List Price: $14.98 USD
Add To Cart


The is the actual April 5, 1968 concert James Brown gave at Boston Garden on the day following the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. American cities were already on fire, and the mayor of Boston considered canceling the performance that evening. A deal was brokered for James Brown’s show to go on and to be shot by Boston public television station WGBH and broadcast live to the whole city.

James Brown gave the performance of his life.

This 2+ hour extended edition of the show is the most complete version of the broadcast ever released, restoring missing footage and several performances unseen for decades!


Concert includes speeches by James Brown*, Boston City Councilmember Tom Atkins** and Boston Mayor Kevin White.

If I Ruled The World – James Brown*

That's Life – James Brown

Kansas City – James Brown

Soul Man – Bobby Byrd*

You’ve Got To Change Your Mind – Bobby Byrd & James Brown*

I'm In Love – Bobby Byrd*

Mustang Sally – Bobby Byrd*

Medley: It's A Man's Man's Man's World / Lost Someone / Bewildered – James Brown

Tell Mama – Marva Whitney*

Check Yourself – Marva Whitney*

Chain of Fools – Marva Whitney*

I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Marva Whitney*

Maceo Parker comedy routine

Get It Together – James Brown

There Was A Time – James Brown

I Got The Feelin' – James Brown

Try Me – James Brown

Medley: Cold Sweat / Ride The Pony / Cold Sweat – James Brown

Maybe The Last Time – James Brown

I Got You (I Feel Good) – James Brown

Please, Please, Please – James Brown

I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me) – James Brown

*Newly added

**Newly restored video

Product Information

Live At Boston Garden: April 5, 1968 [Extended Edition]

Bobby Byrd Actor
David Atwood Director
James Brown Actor
John Starks Actor
Kevin White Actor
Russell Morash Producer
Tom Atkins Actor
/ 5 reviews
Load more reviews

Cart Summary

Subtotal: $0