John Carpenter: Lost Themes IV: Noir

John Carpenter, Cody Carpenter, Daniel Davies
Ships by: 2024-05-03
Available in: US & Canada

Special Offer: This Exclusive Vinyl Variant (via Sacred Bones Records) is limited to 500 units and includes a clear 7" with an exclusive bonus track (see description for complete details).

SKU: 843563171981
In stock

It’s been a decade since John Carpenter recorded the material that would become Lost Themes, his debut album of non-film music and the opening salvo in one of Hollywood’s great second acts. Those vibrant, synth-driven songs, made in collaboration with his son Cody Carpenter and godson Daniel Davies, kickstarted a musical renaissance for the pioneering composer and director. In the years since, Carpenter, Carpenter, and Davies have released close to a dozen musical projects, including a growing library of studio albums and the scores for David Gordon Green’s trilogy of Halloween reboots. With Lost Themes IV: Noir, they’ve struck gold again, this time mining the rich history of the film noir genre for inspiration.

Since the first Lost Themes, John has referred to these compositions as “soundtracks for the movies in your mind.” On the fourth installment in the series, those movies are noirs. Like the film genre they were influenced by, what makes these songs “noirish” is sometimes slippery and hard to define, and not merely reducible to a collection of tropes. The scores for the great American noir pictures were largely orchestral, while the Carpenters and Davies work off a sturdy synth-and-guitar backbone. The noir quality, then, is something you understand instinctively when you hear it, as in connected in an emotional way.

The trio’s free-flowing chemistry means Lost Themes IV: Noir runs like a well-oiled machine—the 1951 Jaguar XK120 Roadster from Kiss Me Deadly, perhaps, or the 1958 Plymouth Fury from John’s own Christine. It’s a chemistry that’s helped power one of the most productive stretches of John’s creative life, and Noir proves that it’s nowhere near done yielding brilliant results.

This deluxe edition is available on limited black + clear cloudy vinyl and includes a clear 7” with an exclusive bonus track, “Black Cathedral,” and screen printed B-Side.

This record comes with a 24" x 36" foldout poster.

  1. My Name Is Death (5:40)
  2. Machine Fear (4:29)
  3. Last Rites (4:34)
  4. The Burning Door (3:21)
  5. He Walks By Night (4:08)
  6. Beyond The Gallows (3:39)
  7. Kiss the Blood Off My Fingers (4:42)
  8. Guillotine (4:05)
  9. The Demon’s Shadow (3:31)
  10. Shadows Have a Thousand Eyes (4:52)

Product Information